Seeking divinity

Kathy Jacobs
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readOct 12, 2018
“person using binoculars” by Evan Kirby on Unsplash

I seek to understand
What the world puts in front of me
I seek to learn what will come next
I seek to feel compassion for everyone
I seek to love myself and others

But what the world puts in front of me
Is seldom understandable
There are always pieces
I am not supposed to understand
Pieces that break my heart

Divining what comes next is just as hard
Wishes seldom come true
But slowly I am learning
To understand that life
Is a mix of good and bad

Compassion for everyone — that’s hard
Understanding how people
Can trade understanding for power
Learning to see people separate
From their actions is not a skill I have

Loving others generically is easy
Loving those that have hurt me
Loving those that hurt others
Neither is easy for me
I work to understand all but the worst

Inspired in part by Fierce Force 💃🏼’s one line poem prompt for Chalkboard.

--

--

Kathy Jacobs
Poets Unlimited

💚POMpoet💚 Former software tester, still breaking things. Social Media geek. Former OneNote MVP. Phoenix Mercury fan. Green Bay Packer fan.