Sharp Point

Rebecca Saraceno
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readDec 24, 2017
Photo: Oscar Keys/StockSnap.io

I’m reaching that sharp point
My true self is tearing me apart
This constant struggle with ourselves
My positive outlook morphing to appease

My true self is tearing me apart
A strangled voice that gasps for life air
My positive attitude morphing to appease
But I am suffocating here

A strangled voice that gasps for life air
Desperate to find warmth, and maybe a smile
But I am forever waiting
That sharp point pierces a little deeper

Desperate to find a loving warm smile
My inner battle will turn me insane
That sharp point pierces a little more
Like a niggle that won’t go away

My inner battle will turn me insane
This constant struggle with ourselves
Like a niggle that won’t go away
I’m reaching that sharp point.

--

--

Rebecca Saraceno
Poets Unlimited

Editor, Writer, Seeker. Believes unequivocally in the value of connection, the power of words and animals as sentient beings.