Silent Love

Rajan Ayyappan
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readSep 3, 2017

He watches me from the corner of his eyes.
Always by my side.
As I wake up in the morning,
And as I slump on the bed
At the end of a tiring day.

He watches me from the corner of his eyes
Sitting on the sofa
Front legs on the armrest
That used to be taller than him
When he came home a puppy yesterday.

He is a grown young man now,
With a bushy tail,
A new smart bump on his forehead.
And a busy schedule
Chasing squirrels and birds
And even on groundhog’s day.

A few more years and unlike
Button, he will grow into an old man,
No new tricks to learn,
And then one day forever
Leaving an empty space
And a home memories full.

Water wells up in my eyes
Thinking of that empty-ness.
He walks up to me and
Says, Are you ok?
Something tells him I am not,
And he cannot understand why.

--

--