Sonnet II

Ysidro Xylander
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readFeb 16, 2015

--

The swing’s chain became a rusted harness,

and ropes dug into the evergreen branch.

The board for ten years went without varnish,

and both wooden ends suffer a cracked flange.

A plastic turtle that alternated

Being used as a sandbox and small pool.

Was green, the constant sun made it faded.

Now it’s yellow, and I’m faded at school.

I heat water with my coffee maker

Open a bag of chai and then pretend

to see the shape of a plunging breaker.

Floss my teeth, wonder what it might portend.

Maybe it wasn’t a great, curling wave.

Might have been the symbol C in cursive.

--

--

Ysidro Xylander
Poets Unlimited

I hope to draw something every day. I write stories and poetry. Starting from nothing to avoid the editing problem. All photos are mine. ysidroxx.tumblr.com .