Ysidro Xylander
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJan 31, 2017

--

Sonnet III: Endless Mary

I’m in a metal bed by a window

the lightning sounds are so close and so loud.

I was so small and slight like a minnow

who thinks the rock above is a dark cloud.

now we’re drifting more toward the time of year

when I can’t see beyond this bedsheet wall

in me, tall as the crashing tide is fear.

i start to think i am nothing at all

i watched you rip corners off book pages

pick your nails and bite the ends of your hair

what stays with me as this body ages

is the memory of you, thin as air.

so I try to believe I can transcend

this mechanical matter and the end.

.Ysidro Xylander 2015.

--

--

Ysidro Xylander
Poets Unlimited

I hope to draw something every day. I write stories and poetry. Starting from nothing to avoid the editing problem. All photos are mine. ysidroxx.tumblr.com .