starman

a poem

Braden Turner
Poets Unlimited
1 min readJul 15, 2018

--

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

i split my head open
today
trying to forget the way
forgiveness wrung the life
out of me
a cloth twisted to a point
of no return,
what it used to be
writhing in my hands
wicked but alive

i remember when i asked you
if there was life on Mars
and
your answer sucked the life
out of me
out of everything
I thought I knew,
I dried up and
i lost it

i shipped out to Ganymede
today
i saw earth’s reflection
in the slipstream
and i thought about you,
caught up in the wrung out blues and
twisted greens
signs of life constellating the sky,
you thought we could exist alone
forever

so i took a trip to Europa this evening
in my equinox jacket
waiting for the sun to rise.
the raw solar winds
filtered through ice
soaking my skin like
life
culminating all at once
something wild and alive

this poem is dedicated to Tre L. Loadholt, for lifting me back up to the stars. ❤

--

--

Braden Turner
Poets Unlimited

Gather your fear & move ever onward—there’s always a new story to tell. • Grad Student. English Instructor. Outspoken sci-fi video game nerd.