Super Blue Blood Moonlight Sonata

Mahmoud Awad
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJan 30, 2018

Adagio sostenuto

What is a letter if not a word

What is a word if not a sentence

What is a sentence if not a poem

And has the moon grown dazed and quiet

And its wild light scattered and unraveled

And its voices drowned in the robes?

Allegretto

Invincible lunar robes

Sent to unravel in disguise

The night as it descends in fragments

Ultrasonographic I’s

Mozart and his eternal sapling

Beethoven the infinite yew hedge

I fold my hands and kneel

To the tiny miracle inside

Buckets of light to paint again

Assembling a vocal masterpiece

Into a lunar polyphony

Presto agitato

The letters I’ve always wanted to write

The words left unsaid

The words I’ve always wanted to tell

The sentences left unread

And sentences I’ve always wanted to pen

And the poems left unread

And silent anniversaries of an aeonian moon

And every sonata left unsaid

[To those who wouldn’t listen]

--

--

Mahmoud Awad
Poets Unlimited

Not a reader, writer, medical student, basketball addict, and reasonably insane person.