Supine

Ronald C. Flores-Gunkle
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readAug 27, 2016

--

Plaza de Armas, San Juan, Puerto Rico ©2016 Ronald C. Flores-Gunkle

“I am flat on my back,” he said,
Although he stood upright
And looked all right.

There is in his language
A propensity for hyperbole,
I thought, as he turned and walked away.

It was an odd way to end a conversation,
Even for him whose box of courtesies
Had long ago been emptied.

The Plaza de Armas was peaceful when he left.
There were just a pair of cinched-in guards,
A desambulante sleeping on a marble bench,
And some silent sippers at the café tables.

A dark dove hobbled from its flock.
Sparks of gold flashed green along its neck,
As it tottered from the stone-strewn street,
With a crippled claw clamped beneath a wing.

It veered toward me,
A flash of fear and warning
In its adamantine eye.

I don’t believe in omens,
In talking birds, in innocence,
Or sunburned visions in the square.

But without them,
What would I see?
Who would I be?

--

--

Ronald C. Flores-Gunkle
Poets Unlimited

An aged humanist hanging on to the idea that there is hope for humankind against most current indications.