The Devil’s Eyes

Cristina Archer
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2018
I see red.

A sea of people, everywhere.
Seeking a soul to steal.
Pleading, yearning for release.
In the inner heart concealed.

Wander through thoughts within the mind.
Tempting fate and time.
Pushing you, begging you, on my knees.
Please, please sin for me.

I see you’re slipping; you almost fell.
I see my plan is working well.
Your evil thoughts begin to grow.
A black plague spreading on once perfect white snow.

A silver blade: an enemy near.
Slice some flesh; ignore the fear.
So what if blood drips from its stained edge?
No haunting remorse on this moral ledge.

Any wave of guilt will only consume.
If you think of others first.
Be liberal, be selfish, be only yourself.
And I will help you through the worst.

The worst of times won’t be so bad.
If you sell your soul to me.
You are number one; think of no one else.
Live life unchained: be free.

At last! That painted smile.
It hides you still.
I’ve got you now.
I’ve got your will.

Let’s sin together.
Let’s enjoy. Yes!
Baited breath.
Carve that flesh.
Unbridled satisfaction.
Until your death.

It’s what you wanted all the time.
So use your time well.
(For the eternal pain will come.
When you join me…in Hell…)

___________________________
Thanks for reading! Enjoyed it? Share it — or follow me on Twitter or Medium

--

--

Cristina Archer
Poets Unlimited

political whipping girl, writer (speculative fiction/poetry/life), aspiring photographer, wig collector, with Méchant Publishing and Rowanvale Books