The Dictionary

Sandy Knight
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readApr 7, 2016
http://www.abc.net.au

I’ve been studying you

for a lifetime

and still

you remained

unknowable

I’m sometimes

surprised to feel you

in my body

in the sweep of

the broom on the kitchen floor

or behind my eyes

as I gaze at the world

Perhaps if I could

have released

my grip

on childish absolutes-

how a mother’s love

should feel,

I would have seen

you

more

clearly

I could have

released you

from the illusion,

allowed

you

the full breadth

of who you were;

what you felt

Unlike the dictionary

every word defined

neatly displayed on the page

my tendencies were jumbled in

contradictions

clinging and running away

Hitting my stride

as a writer

ironically

you are no longer

interested in

the words emanating

from

me

though

you loved words

once

and read

the dictionary

regularly

s lynn knight 2016

--

--