The Feather

Rhonda Marrone
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJun 24, 2018
Splendiferous

A female cardinal
Lands on a branch
Inches from where I sit

A feather falls
Silently
From her wing
To the ground
Floats
Back and forth
To the grass

An incredible
Happenstance
To be there to see
The feather
Fall
From the bird
To the ground
At that moment
Without a sound
From bird
Or me
Or tree

It means not a thing
To me or to bird
That the feather fell
But I was there
To witness
The feather fall
And float
Silently
From her wing
To the ground
In an instant of time
That brought us together
The bird to drop a feather
And I to witness

Pinterest

--

--

Rhonda Marrone
Poets Unlimited

Poetry and Essay Writer. Be Open Editor. Lover of all things nature. You can most likely find me sitting under a tree ,watching birds, writing poems.