The Girl Inside

Rebecca Saraceno
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMar 28, 2018
Photo by Luis Tosta on Unsplash

It’s time to reach out and play
A small smile cracks
Can I find you today my child
She’s there, standing in the corner

Slightly unkempt
I gently brush her hair away from her eyes
Arms outstretched for the warmth
The security of a powerful clasp

This little voice has become so muffled
Suffocated over the years
But she’s there still
A tiny fragment of the rest

We surge through life
Yearning and craving but rarely stopping
Come, let me tend to that scrape
My tiny child, I can soothe you

You are mine
I am yours
Your voice is just as sweet as ever
Your spirit just as precious.

--

--

Rebecca Saraceno
Poets Unlimited

Editor, Writer, Seeker. Believes unequivocally in the value of connection, the power of words and animals as sentient beings.