The “Me” Anti-Ode

ThriverQuotes
Poets Unlimited
1 min readDec 4, 2016

--

“Me” said the therapist

Focus on the “Me”

“Me?” But I’m a mom

How can I be a “Me!”

I gotta forsake “Me!”

I gotta neglect “Me!”

We all know

Without a happy “Me”

There can’t be a gleeful “anyone”

“Me” is the basis of all bases

It all starts with “Me”

And goes one from there

The therapist advised

I complied

Dire consequences

Ensued

A vicious cycle

I got engrossed in “Me”

The “Me” envelops and engulfs

Turning “Me” into a self-absorbed

Egotistical “Me”

And the new “Me” is now

“Me Me Me Me Me Me Me Me Me”

While the new “Me”

All happy and glee

The people around “Me”

Internalized themselves

Coz “Me”

Demanding and boisterous

Allowed no one

To be their own “Me”, but

“Me Me Me Me Me Me Me Me Me”

--

--