The Memory of Dreams

Will Staton
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 13, 2018

Along the gray shore at dawn

Did I find the remnants

Of imagination, an abundance of

Fragments, shards and sorrows

From across existence, here

Strewn along the shore of memory

Before the endless ocean of

Eternity

I took to sea on a ship of

Ephemerality, floating lightly

‘Midst the persistence of

Humanity

Hand in the water, I feel the

Sting of what remains

Of others’ dreams, I scoop

Them gently in my palm

Small sparkles of consciousness

Illuminating an unseen past

Called home by lights of shore

I abandon the memory of dreams

--

--

Will Staton
Poets Unlimited

Career Educator. Author of “Through Fire and Flame: Into the New Inferno.” Bylines at Arc Digital, Areo Magazine, and the Strategy Bridge.