The Mercy Hotel

Irish Folk Song #33

John Horan
Poets Unlimited
1 min readDec 18, 2017

--

For Matthew Moynihan

They took me down to Mercy hotel

They said life is tough

But dying is worse

Stay off the drop

To break the curse.

I kept myself clean

In St Vincent’s hostel

Drunks and users

all around me

But I never did tell

I was going to college

At the ringing bell

I lay down on the bed

And waited for dark

Two sicknesses lay

There with me

Addiction and anxiety

Co morbid twins

Twinned around my heart

If you wait long enough

One day you’ll be free

Coherent and clean

A new beginning

I’m leaving hostels

and hotels behind

I walk again

In the pure morning

Like my poems? Check out my novel A Vagrant At The House Of Love.

--

--

John Horan
Poets Unlimited

Writer of novels, scripts and poems. Teaches meditation. Thinks too much. https://linktr.ee/johnhoranpoetry