Dear Moon

Ezra of All Trades
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJul 31, 2019

The moon told me secrets of you walking home alone

and looking back every step, paranoid.

The moon told me you walked with fear,

The fear of maybe never being able to look back and seeing me running towards you,

Chasing you everywhere, following your every step like a lost puppy.

The moon told me you looked back,

weary of someone else falling for you on your way to tomorrow,

Worrying the past will creep up on you when you least expect.

The moon told me that under the stars you

Cried for me,

Cried for my hands,

Cried for a plane ride just to be an arms reach away,

Worried I’d be dancing alone in my bed,

Tossing and turning, restless, and with tired eyes,

Without sleep.

The moon, the silent god,

that sees me when my day ends and

whispers my heart to you when I wake,

as you lay to sleep at night millions of clouds away from me.

Oh how I miss you, my love.

I’ve missed you and as months gone by, turning into years,

the moon,

he pulls the waves and turns the tide, reminding me of time.

Reminding me of the distance.

I say to the moon:

I’m always with her and her with me.

As beaming and as grand as you are,

dear moon,

my love is the wind that brushes against her hair,

in your moonlight.

I am the cold that crawls through her skin,

and the warmth that embraces her

every

inch.

I am the night that lets you shine.

And when you set, I am the sunrise

and I am her every morning, her

every

day.

I am the breath that caves in her chest

and the blood that pumps through her veins.

And everything I am,

she mirrors to me as the ocean mirrors your sky.

And the lies you speak, dear moon,

it may haunt me, but I will grow deaf to your whispers.

Because she will always be mine and you,

just a shadow that

comes

and goes.

--

--

Ezra of All Trades
Poets Unlimited

Palauan in diaspora with a passion for art, writing, and cups of tea on rainy days.