THE OBLIGATORY WELL

suraj powdel
Poets Unlimited

--

Behind the walls of humane custody

He, my friend whispered to me

About the never ending distant journey

That housed the well of serene beauty

Not of water but indeed it splashed

A rejuvenating experience as we both climbed

To make the fall

While mist on my face drenched

The black and white boxes

On my life’s board and asked to

Wonder if the game was on my side

By diving deep into the nature’s well

To gaze the fall into the uncertain and unregretful

Desire of leaving behind even a

Single trail of emotion and float amidst the clouds

Because they don’t haunt you in your house

Instead they hold me in their photograph

Clicked by the grudge that breathes my

Urge to choke the frustrated thought

Of irregularities brought upon

Like the ups and downs in this hill

So let the bridge between

The hills and cloud break into two parts

For I could pass by and leave the custody behind

But someone holds me back

Oh! My friend just let me fall into the heaven’s den

But as I turn back I can only see

My life in disguise has arranged for me

A six feet obligatory well dug in deep.

_ _ _

In case you would like to listen and watch the recited version click here- youtube

--

--