The Savoy

Pamela Morrison
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMar 25, 2018

Built in 1880
Beautifully crafted
Frequented by artists
The dance of Art Deco and Edwardian
The elegance and glamour
Whistler & Monet
Enchanted
The Thames
The fog, the bridges
The parks, the light, the opulence
Their studio
In London town
The jewel in the crown
The snapshots of urban life
On the doorstep
The Strand
So very Grand
Oscar Wilde resided until
His bill went past astronomical
Arnold Bennett, a regular at the Grill
With an omelette named after him
Sitting in my turret seat
The luxury
The savoir faire
Lucky me
The experience
The decadence
The childlike glee
Emitted with a shriek
At this unexpected treat
A riverside suite
The legendary Savoy Bed
Made with long, loose, curled horse tails
The perfect RIP
May I never wake from this sleep
This dream
Churchill, Puccini, Monroe
All rested their weary heads
Upon these beds
Liza Minnelli and Emma Thompson even took one home
That’s the story told
Always sad to leave
This place of history
The harmony
Will remain a treasured memory
Until we meet again

--

--

Pamela Morrison
Poets Unlimited

Discoverist, writing of life, love, obstacles, change & other things. Problems are my catnip and troubleshooting my fuel. My accidental poetry keeps me sane.