The Seeker

M. Edward Alexander
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readFeb 9, 2018

Will I spend my life
Searching for answers?

Among the stars,
A clue;
And in a touch,
A word we have no word for;
And in a tear
That heals and inflicts wounds
All at once,
There…
There lies more questions.

Why this?
Why that?
Why us?

A broken key
To one locked door
Among many

A crumpled piece
Of a puzzle that spans
The entire universe

And in a heartbeat,
A glimpse
A glimmer
A drop of knowledge
In a vast sea of Mystery;
Then in an instant
It flickers away,
Out of reach once more.

And yet,
I will walk the earth
Seeking
… Searching
… … Yearning
For an answer
That will never come.

Because I know…

There are
No Answers.

I’ve been away. This is for all my fellow Seekers. Always thinking of you…

--

--

M. Edward Alexander
Poets Unlimited

Explorer of the human condition. Supporter of the arts, science & technology. Guided by empathy. #Poetry