The Shadow

Zachariah Wahrer
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readDec 24, 2015

A poem by Zachariah Wahrer

Birds below, confetti born on Gaia’s breath.
The clouds are wisps, alien vessels of obscurity.
Gravity tugs at my soul, inescapable, indomitable.
What does it mean?
We puncture her skin, drain the ancients, burn our fires.
I can see for days, but I cannot see the future.
The shadow chases, leads, assimilates.
Where am I now, a million years ago?
The memory of the future spurs me on.
The shadow breathes.
Ravens sing the only song I ever want to hear.
I cast my mind, seeking to touch the lost.
Where are they?
The fence is tall. Red and grey stand starkly against withered grass.
What did they do?
I see life’s shape, hear the consciousness of eons.
The shadow laughs.

Thanks for reading! It means so much to me. If you enjoyed this work, please consider recommending or sharing so that others might find it.

If you enjoyed this piece, you might like The Maw.

--

--

Zachariah Wahrer
Poets Unlimited

I'm a Montana based sci-fi writer and author of the Dawn Saga, a space opera epic. Get the first novel free: zachariahwahrer.com/newsletter