The Stages

Aline G.
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJun 9, 2018

--

You smiled when I walked in
Clear, white teeth
Age lines of wisdom on your cheeks
Wrapping your love around me
Around my heart and soul
The inside of your arms
My sanctuary

You narrowed your eyes
When I walked in
Lines scrunched together
Then soften five seconds later
You smiled again
Wrapping your love around me
But I was cold

You widen your eyes
When I walked in
Unblinking stare, widen eyes
I smiled at you
But you walked away
I knew then it has begun
I had to be ready

You sat on the couch
Looking at the wall
Unblinking, dead eyes
A human statue
I walked and sat next to you
I called out your name
You did not even twitch

Now, I do not see you
And you do not see me
It’ll be time soon
The more I’m close,
The more it’ll hurt
Soon, your arms won’t have love
They’ll be just cold bones.

--

--

Aline G.
Poets Unlimited

Writer. Singer. Dog enthusiast. History major. Gamer. And an absolute mess.