Photo Credit: Olena Shmahalo/Quanta Magazine; Original by ktsdesign

The Tea Kettle, Avocado, Brain Light Poem

KD Lit Yogi
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readApr 7, 2019

--

Begin at the end,
a quiet seat at the table
after a long journey gone

peripatetic there,
and here my tired feet
resting on the ground

Pausing;;;;;
Pausing to find truth;;;
finding truth now;;
and from the string of thens
at my heels;;;;;
but what of the truth tomorrow?

A phantom truth
intangible
and without breath,
the breath of now so full and clear;;;
so pure and nourishing,
next to yesterday’s sleep
still dusting my eyes.

Bright light
penetrates in my brain,
casting its beam
through the twisting channels;
corners of head space
illuminate and make shadows-
a maze so intricate
I cannot follow.

Tea kettle disruption,
Tea kettle disruption,
Tea kettle disruption!
Piercing my ear drums
and ghosting my brain light;
It darkens
so quickly.

Umami
savory
perfect avocado a (an?)umami?
this taste,
a green fruit butter.

And so, they win in this moment,
Tea kettle’s ear piercing
and avocado’s umami taste,
dimming the brain light;;;;;
thoughts retreat to their corners
and rest out of sight.

--

--

KD Lit Yogi
Poets Unlimited

Lit. teaching mama, thoughtful yogi, observing poet, embracing our world… dekoskie@gmail.com