The Tram to Battery Park

Black Crow
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 24, 2016

I woke up this morning
with the strongest wish to
go to Battery Park,
immediately, right now.
I thought that I’d take East River Ferry
near the Manhattan Bridge.
I will see that house with furious windows
against which Wall Saint.
And amazing ancient door, too.
From South Street I’d go to Governor’s Lane,
reach Pearl Street, take the tram…
Hold on! Is it Pearl Street or… Bridge Street?
If I met somebody… No. Nobody knows me
in this county of…
It is Pearl Street, isn’t it? Well, I’d take the tram,
which could take me to the park. And then I…

…woke up again. There is the morning again.
I am in Kyiv, Ukraine.
O man, what’s wrong with you?
There is no tram to Battery Park.
You have to walk from South Street.

--

--