CC0

These Blues

Heath ዟ
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMar 19, 2019

--

I’ve been picking through life
looking for the good bits,
but it’s mostly gravel and sand.
I’ve known a few diamonds in my time,
but I always seem to bed down with thieves

and in the morning they’ve moved on
like they do,
and if you walked a mile in my shoes
you’d see these blues are nothing new.

Some nights I’ve offered everything I have
for a different kind of life,
but devils only deal in souls
and I’m gambler enough to hedge that bet,
cause if there’s a God,
I think I’d like to meet him.

I’d ask him why the good days
were so few,
because if you walked a mile in my shoes
you’d see these blues are nothing new.

Just like every debt comes calling due
these old familiar blues are nothing new.

--

--

Heath ዟ
Poets Unlimited

Destroyed. Rebuilt. Broken, Mended. Annihilated. Remade. Nothing special.