They lied. Didn’t they ?

Toshita
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readAug 31, 2016

“Speak”, they said.
“But I don’t know how to”, I made excuse.
“Learn”, they instructed.
I started practicing.

“Express”, they said.
“But I am already speaking”, I exclaimed.
“Speaking is not equivalent to expressing”, they elaborated.
I started trying harder.

“Pour your heart out”, they said.
“But I am expressing”, I enunciated.
“Not everything!!”, they elucidated.
I started gathering even more words.

“Love”, they said.
“But I am flawed”, I stated.
“We love the flawed side”, they persuaded.
I started unfurling.

“Care”, they said.
“But I love”, I asserted.
“A little more”, they demanded.
I started submitting my soul.

“Don’t let go”, they said.
“But I care”, I whispered.
“We might try leaving”, they giggled.
I started to tighten my grip.

I spoke.
I expressed.
I poured my heart out.
I loved.
I cared.
I didn’t let them go.

But…

“Don’t you think before speaking??”, they clamoured.
“But you asked me to”, I sobbed.
“Yeah, whatever”, they shrugged off.
I started entwining.

--

--

Toshita
Poets Unlimited

"You think, I do not belong because you have not seen me in the mud. But, how can you see me when i am dirty, if i shower every night?"