Thoughts and Prayers

By James Kenichi

James Kenichi
Poets Unlimited
1 min readNov 15, 2018

--

Photo by Rux Centea on Unsplash

Tragedy is weaved through the fibers of our country,
hate drips from the banner of the free,
blood that should have never been spilled
stains our dreams.

Thoughts and prayers swirl around so thick
I can feel them in my lungs.
Once upon a time, they gave me life,
now they choke me.

Thoughts and prayers are the beginning,
they are good intentions.
But the road to hell was paved with those,
and I’m not about to go there.

Intention is never enough!
Lives disappear surrounded by intention.
Bodies are tormented while drenched with intention.
Darkness flourishes because of intention.

Give hope,
because hope is not empty!
Hope isn’t blind,
and is so much more than floating words.

Hope is light,
hope is strength,
hope is innate human goodness,
hope is compassion.

But all of that would die alone,
but intertwine it with
blistered feet,
worn out voices,
sleepless nights,
uncomfortable conversations,
and relentless action…

That’s when it becomes hope.

Follow me: Instagram |Twitter | Facebook

--

--