To Be a Man

Tadiwa T Gwede
Poets Unlimited
1 min readJan 8, 2017

--

I have to be a man

who dives into the darkness
not to assimilate,
but wrestle with principalities
rip out the demons of tragedies
and boldly demonstrate
that true courage is loving hate

I have to be a man
standing firm on solid ground
speaking truth, the righteous sound
creating wisdom, with words profound

I have to be a man
who knows what needs to be done
and executes this over and above
so I can leave a legacy for my son

I have to be a man
standing guard over my family
staying far from lustful trickery
keeping watch of its sly proximity

I shall be a man
rising up after every fall
shedding tears, for don’t we all
Because true pain will befall
all who choose to answer the call

To be a man

--

--

Tadiwa T Gwede
Poets Unlimited

The screaming blank pages cry out to be suffocated by verbiage