To Be..

Kapil Vallabh
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJan 14, 2018

While william willingly wrote the words…to be or not to be, and might’ve framed it as a question too..maybe?

This one’s if it may be called a poem at that, is quite far from it,my bad

So while i speak from the words of old

or new as the times may have them told

So those who listen take them with a hint of lime’

To others i’m sorry for wasting your time

Cos’ i’m not sure if what i say might be sweet or sour

But as the moment dictates…i’m the man of the hour

Or the second or a minute..whichever is quicker,

I’m certain you’ve heard enough of me bicker

So lets begin in the middle like i usually do

And i begin by sharing some stuff with you

The question he asked or the phrases he said,

Were ahead of their times..and thus went over my head

But the two words that stuck and stayed with me

I think they began and ended with “to be”

Of this kingdom you call my life to be,

A ruler i wasn’t meant to be

A jester i didn’t mean to be

But certainly felt the need to be,

Not as serious that i seem to be

Though sometimes more than i need to be

And while time is less than it seems to be

I waste it more than i need to be

Remembering what; i’ve never seemed to see

Or forgetting those that once were meant to be

Passing moments that were set in stone,

Or welcoming back those that seemed long gone

Quite aware of the words i present to thee

Some might pay heed,if they need it be

Of words that seem quicker than they mean to be,

Or the ones that don’t that i deem to be

Of staring at screens more than i need to be,

To reading up stuff,that i can’t seem to see

And As young as i seem to be

Time is faster than it needs to be

Of the person that i ever aimed to be

Or how different i became,from what i seemed to see

And while one might wonder if i speak from my heart,

I don’t think i have one,but then again this is just a start

And as i leave the stage free of me

The parting words that i deem to be…..

--

--