Tonight

Vadim Slivinski
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJun 4, 2018
Photo by Phil Henry on Unsplash

Tonight, I couldn’t sleep,
I just sat on my settee
Waiting for the darkness to bow
To the almighty
Force of life.
Then, tired of not being tired,
I finally made a decision
And went outside.
I felt the morning air
Filled with joy of ignorance,
Blissful in its naïvety;
I heard the invisible street singers
On each and every windy corner;
I witnessed the fake gods
Hanging from concrete pillars
One by one make their last breath
And go out to the tune of ‘Subterranean Homesick Blues’,
For it was the time for the inexplicable,
The thrilling,
The weird to hum their prayer;
I stepped on the shoulders of generations;
I passed the ever-jammed round-about
And had a cup of coffee at the round-the-clock;
I matched the grey boxes with the blue canvas
Of the unfocused tablecloth stained with orange juice
And tomato soup;
I married the second sister
And befriended the seventh son;
I inhaled the clouds of wisdom
And exhaled the puff of youth;
I never left my home that night
For it has followed me
All along the way.

--

--

Vadim Slivinski
Poets Unlimited

An English-writing Russian, currently trying to finish a novel and a poetry collection