Two Deaths

J P
Poets Unlimited
Published in
3 min readOct 5, 2015

1. The death of Twiddle Dee

I’m laying there in the alley
My life is pouring out of this bleeding wound
And I didn’t see the face of the man who shut my mouth
Slid his knife and left with my bag
That in the bag it wasn’t more than candies
It’s not the first of casual tragedies
But I wish my eyes had caught his
so he’d know he stopped me not late in my twenties

I kneel in this street and regrets aren’t few
Of all I’ve done, there was more left to do
Of all the feels there are few I’ve really got through
Of all the men I’ve met there are more I never knew

In this street now I crawl
I sit my back against a wall
My stories don’t matter after all
Of my friends there aren’t many I’d call

I cry on the sidewalk
And if they hear me choke
Maybe the friends I’ve lost will pause their talk
Maybe a girl will be repaid for her love I broke

While I never stood in a conflict
I think of the petals I’ve picked
And the people I’ve kicked
I’m sorry if I contradict

It is on that street I am dying
I’m alone and no car passing
No one sees and my blood keeps on dripping
Like the water will flow through the lucky living

My story wasn’t long
And my death won’t make it into a song
Not everyone goes like king kong

2. The death of Twiddle Dum

I’m laying there in the alley
My life is pouring out of this bleeding wound
And I didn’t see the face of the man who shut my mouth
Slid his knife and left with my bag
That in the bag it wasn’t more than a rose for Louise
It’s not the first of casual tragedies
But I wish my eyes had caught his
so he’d know he stopped me not late in my twenties

I fall in this street and I think of my story
For all the things I’ve done, I can’t think of any glory
But the people I’ve met, they’ve made me free
Tonight I die but tomorrow I’ll live in their memory

Against the wall I find the comfort I need
to remember that my life was my deed
Money is low and I might have shown greed
But the friends I’d call would come in great speed

I cry in the night for all I leave
The great parties of New Year’s Eve
The smiles were many and the hopes were naive
I go on my own but I’ve seen what life has to give

I had the time for a taste of love,
The edge of a knife and the flight of a dove,
They let me know what the world is made of,
The best of it fits in your gloves

It is in that street I will be dying
And the stars they will keep on shining
The waters they will keep on growing
And There will be sun for all of the living

My story it was short
But it was one of a sort
Let’s go now I’ll be a good sport

--

--