U

The Poetic Genius
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readMay 22, 2017

“U”

Closure and closer sound so close together

But so far apart

Cause I say I wanna be closer, you say you just want closure

And us staying apart brings me closer to the bottom than I ever been

Wanna jump into the conclusion I’m just as good alone as I am with you

But problem is I never saw myself as complete, other than when you were attached to me

I saw when you disconnected left our love disjointed

Brought a whole new meaning to separated

Cause I know we became one

So now I’m in two places all the time

Trying to find my way back to the center

Trying to throw pride into this void you left

Throwing coals into this dim fire, trying to redeem my self-esteem

I’m tired of the bruises from kicking myself

The taunting I fling at my reflection, the wound filled with salt when I claim

It’s my fault

I know it’s OUR fault

I know we broke OUR hearts

I watched it happen

I tried to ignore the sound of the breaking

I tried to ignore the tick of our time being up

The reminder that we could never last forever

But it blared in my ear every time we parted ways

I wondered…was it the last time the taste of your kiss sat happy on my lips

I hate that it caught me so off guard when it actually was

The taste has faded away, I lick my lips trying to remember it

But…

Closure and closer sound so close together

But the only thing missing

Is “U”

Credit: www.themindunleashed.com

--

--

The Poetic Genius
Poets Unlimited

The Poetic Genius is a name I have lived the last 15 years trying to live up to. I am a poet as much as I am human, it runs through every fiber of my being.