Unspoken

Christine Ren
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJan 22, 2018
(Artwork by ©MWeissArt 2015)

Please tell me
what you hide –
those black claws
at the soul,
dark shapes
that you ride

The grand prix
of all failures
you’ll hide it away
so in the forever –

I can still play.

Now feed me
your doubts,
those greedy bugs
creep crawlin’
can’t have what is mine
when I come a callin’

My mistrustful mistruths –
hollow trails carved today,
will help you my dear
oh yes, they just may

The fires you rage
and ashen tears
that do fall –

I take them all.

So bring me your
cries in the night,
those hollow shadows
that coil real tight

I gobble and gorge
on shivering shrieks,
along with great pains
and your hardest defeats

Point fingers
throw blame,
yell and scream
in my name
’cause the more
anger you spout
is what I’m all about

You’re scared,
don’t you see?
It’s what I want
you to be

Give up, cast aside
roll over, stay down –
it’s all in a day’s work
when I come to town

You feel sick?
No I promise you’re well!
Mirage’s infection
is all part of the spell

That’s pathetic,
forget it!
Sheer nonsense —
makebelieve
this casting me aside
risking joy’s stupid ride

I’m part of life’s fabric,
reams of danger
come loose
who sound the alarm -
and that’s of no use?

I drive you
survive you,
I shield and
seclude you!

I promise quite true
cross my heart
’til its blue

Hush take one sip
just a drop
of my cure –
desperation’s the game
when control has free reign.

Enjoyed this? Then leave a clap & follow me at Christine Ren for more.

--

--

Christine Ren
Poets Unlimited

Pirouetted from dance and ocean science careers into film. Serial entrepreneur with a writing obsession. http://theunderwaterwoman.com/workshops