Unspoken Promise

Rebecca Saraceno
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readSep 18, 2018
Photo by Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

The field is empty
I stand in the middle
Turn in slow circles
Lost and found

No way of knowing how I got here
No way of knowing how to leave
If I sink to my knees
I can crawl my way out

But soon my knees are bleeding
The grass cuts sharp like a blade
Every incision
More painful than the last

If I could get to the edge
I would find my compass
I know they are waiting for me
Like an unspoken promise

I’m getting closer now
I can sense them
Take my hand, show me the path
So that I can breathe again.

_______________________

--

--

Rebecca Saraceno
Poets Unlimited

Editor, Writer, Seeker. Believes unequivocally in the value of connection, the power of words and animals as sentient beings.