Valentine

Silver Dog
Poets Unlimited

--

Raw wind lifts
against anything still
separates saltwater from eyes
intent on ships
anchored in Dingle Bay.

Seiner slips between buoys
crossing into deep water
blue boat gliding on blue skin
below a treeless hillside
nude soil line silhouette
underneath a valentine sky
my vacationing mind wonders
where does my skin end?

Where the wind comes from
above realm hidden yet here
in harbor wind I open
unfolded origami
again I become my
original sheet creased and caressed
a shawl of wind for company.

Last night we touched beneath the covers
you unwrapped me from bed clothes
uncovered us both
revealing the unity
of truth and beauty.

Today I celebrate
this saint’s scarlet holiday
blown head long beyond
pale bleeding misery
let it flow where it will
away again
away still
red-tide riding from another realm.

--

--