Victory In Surrender

John Horan
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 2, 2018

--

I found Victory in Surrender

This life is weird…

I flew off the tracks

Into deserts and wilderness

Forcing me to find a way out

Thorns and briars

Tore at my sides

This suffering surely must

Add to up something?

I pray for the whole world

What else can you do

For a lost cause?

Sometimes I dream

Of retreating to the country

And planting a forest.

Someday, perhaps,

We can’t give up just yet.

I spent twenty years

In exile from my self.

There’s not much I know

But one thing I’m sure of

Heaven lies on the far side

Of hell.

Like my poems? Check out my novel A Vagrant At The House Of Love.

--

--

John Horan
Poets Unlimited

Writer of novels, scripts and poems. Teaches meditation. Thinks too much. https://linktr.ee/johnhoranpoetry