Virtual Reality Me

John Horan
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readJan 13, 2017

--

Image by google’s deep dream

Sometimes I feel like my only friends

live on screen

if it wasn’t for the fact

I have loads of friends

But so much time is invested

in silver screens and neon dreams

reality only interrupts the fantastic play

of people for my approval and appreciation

they never talk back

they never judge me

I guess I don’t really have to care

I can just consume

other people’s ideas and dreams

I live in worlds

where no-one can hurt me

but reality, reality

still calls to me

I guess it doesn’t mean much

if you can’t get hurt

real rewards require real stakes

real people need real heartbreak

to feel alive.

--

--

John Horan
Poets Unlimited

Writer of novels, scripts and poems. Teaches meditation. Thinks too much. https://linktr.ee/johnhoranpoetry