Chloe Wallace
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJun 11, 2017

--

Void

I wake up in the silent void of Sunday
you left the bed already as you do
different clocks inside, you wake up in the dark, mind alert body ready
I open my eyes everyday as late as I can I count the time to wake
I dread the time to finally leave the pleasant cavern of my mind

outside it is a feast of sun and sky or at least that is how I see it. It is June and it is always the best time of the year
beginning in May, cold clean air in my lungs,
perfect blue perfect light
I don’t mind the buildings I don’t mind the asphalt, not
when it’s this time of the year

You code away on your desk, so logical and steady,
calming yourself up with numbers and lines
I chase the poetry that I mistreated so for long,
I beg it to open its treasure trove for me

Somewhere my soul talks to yours and says it’s ok we belong
While we toil in silence apart here, eyes tired and hollow gazing at blue screens in steely cases and cold cold radiation all around

Are we this flesh that pretends it's not
getting nearer the end everyday
are we this soul that I see behind
the green of your eyes so fleeting, so shy,
before you steel your voice and yell
and I sob and I hurt
and we retreat and we mull
and sulk

And wake up tomorrow and sort of try again,
sort of pretend it’s ok, wishing that it will
eventually be, because our souls are
not even not made for each other

--

--