Wake To The Miracle

John Horan
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readFeb 26, 2019

--

Life is an act of creation

It’s uncertain

There is risk

Therein lies

the possibility of genius

And disaster

If I can add daring

To the potion

Of fear and terror

Maybe I can pull off

Some wonder?

If I can keep finding

The peace

Beneath everything

And the faith

To be the steel

To see me through

The storms

I can be

All and nothing

And everything

And really live

Instead of just

Getting by

Or worse crawling

I’ve got to live

Fully, richly, deeply

Suck the marrow from the bone

And share it with the world

We are all in the dark

Only because we’ve forgotten the light

Illuminating everything

Weary everyday has blinded us

To the miracle that is

Instant and everywhere

It’s too much to take

So we numb ourselves

And call it ordinary

To survive

But we must remember

As much as we can

Wake up to the miracle

Of our life.

Like my poems? Check out my novel A Vagrant At The House Of Love.

--

--

John Horan
Poets Unlimited

Writer of novels, scripts and poems. Teaches meditation. Thinks too much. https://linktr.ee/johnhoranpoetry