Wavy

Lidia Almeida
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readAug 6, 2018

It was only Monday
When I left my feet resting
On yesterday’s shore
Its grainy air popping bubbles against my skin
Salty words whispered by the sea
Not meant for our humanity-filled ears

My hair was long and sticky
It felt heavier the more it dripped
Down my back like a dark octopus
The sand was soft even between the rocks
I won’t say I was hiding

Sometimes a kind stranger would sit next to me
And ask what my favorite cloud shape was
My answer never pleased them
It wouldn’t please me either

As days go
And they go as unnecessary
As all the water I swallowed in my distractions
I cannot tell
If I left too much of myself there
Or still got too much of it left.

--

--

Lidia Almeida
Poets Unlimited

Anxiety-based lifeform with a passion for movement, nature, linguistics, science, art, learning useless skills and daydreaming. Find me on IG @ lidiasalmeida