Welcome To Your Carlsberg Years

Zachary Houle
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readAug 9, 2016

--

This house is finally a home

It comes with a garage opener

And a gas barbeque

There’s a spare room in case there’s a kid

Some extra space in the back yard

To smoke the lawn, mow the marijuana

If only it came with a life,

Never mind the wife …

Welcome To Your Carlsberg Years

The gang’s all here, except for me

I’m too busy choosing paint

For the living/dining room/kitchen

Will it be Ivory Fresco or Aberdeen Pavilion?

Let’s hold a paint chip up to the wall

See how it looks under moonlight

Go ahead, guys, have a pint on me

I’ll be around in a few days, if I’m lucky …

Welcome To Your Carlsberg Years

Sorry, mom, that I’m not calling

I’ve got something new to keep me company

I can afford the big screen TV

And the movies to combat loneliness

It keeps me busy and out of trouble

Well, that’s if you don’t count

Some nasty bits of domestic disturbance

Just a few bumps, a little air turbulence …

Welcome To Your Carlsberg Years

--

--

Zachary Houle
Poets Unlimited

Book critic by night, technical writer by day. Follow me on Twitter @zachary_houle.