What Are You, Mystery Stir-Fry Veggie?

Ernio Hernandez
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMar 6, 2016

Listening to Beastie Boys
just minding my own
I ordered up some stir-fry
speed-dial on my phone.

It got here pretty fast
they’re just up the block
and I tip pretty well
it’s known at Happy Wok.

So I’m chomping on my eats
thinking stir-fry’s the shiz
when I come upon a veggie
with no clue what it is.

It looks kinda like a potato
but ain’t no stir-fry spuds
Maybe a hunk of onion or garlic
dare I test my taste buds?

Carrots, green beans and peppers
I think we’d be agreeing
are quite easy to discern
just by looking and seeing.

Those are off of the table
but then what could be left:
If this is baby corn
I’d be concerned for the chef.

A rare colorless mushroom?
The stem of a broccoli?
Some unchopped ginger?
What the hell could this be?

Come on now, mystery veggie?
What are you, what?
Oh, hold the phone, yo
it’s a water chestnut.

--

--