When it is Raining

Vadim Slivinski
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readSep 16, 2017
Photo by Joy Stamp on Unsplash

When it is raining in the afternoon, I crank up Tom Waits.
I crank him up and listen carefully.
I listen carefully and dissolve in his voice.
I dissolve in his voice as he sings.
And, as he sings, I dissolve in his voice,
I dissolve in his voice and listen carefully,
I listen carefully and crank him up.
I crank up Tom Waits when it is raining in the afternoon…

When it is raining in the morning, I am indolent.
I am indolent to wake up so I lie in bed.
I lie in bed and imagine a nice hot bath.
I imagine a nice hot bath and fall asleep again.
And, as I fall asleep again, I imagine a bubbly bath,
I imagine a nice hot bath and lie in bed,
Lie in bed because I am indolent to wake up.
I am indolent to wake up when it is raining in the morning…

When it is raining in the evening, it seems appropriate and right.
It seems appropriate and right to me as I come back home.
I come back home and have a drink to warm me up.
I have a drink to warm me up and suddenly my thoughts are wet too.
And, as my thoughts turn wet, I drink more to warm me up,
I have a drink to warm me up as I come back home,
I come back home and it seems appropriate to me.
It all seems appropriate and right when it is raining in the evening…

When it is raining in the night, I feel nothing at all.
I feel nothing at all except for a suffocating pain.
I feel a suffocating pain and have a nightmare.
I have a dream that I am drowning, and wake up into a monotonous hum.
I wake up into a monotonous hum of the rain after I have a nightmare,
I have a nightmare about drowning and feel suffocating pain,
I feel suffocating pain and nothing at all.
I feel nothing at all when it is raining in the night…

--

--

Vadim Slivinski
Poets Unlimited

An English-writing Russian, currently trying to finish a novel and a poetry collection