Where We Stood / Where We Stand

Lyric Doe
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJul 26, 2016

Where We Stood

I breathe in
Stormy,
Heavenfaced
Beneath
Murky glow
And Thorn,
And you falter
Because you know
I will sing
Thunder
And cry
Electric
In your sky but
You can’t stand
The Rain
As it falls
In ways that you
So often do.
Natch.

Still yet,
I smiled sweet
And kept the
Howling winds
At bay
In hopes that
You would fashion wing
And take flight
But you are
The personification of
Disappointment,
If anything,
And I believe
Because you tell me
This is so
Through word,
yes,
But mostly action
Or lack thereof.

The muted squall
Brings aching
To my soul
That I know
You cannot heal
So I let you go.
Man that you are.
Woman that I am not.
And allow the rain
To Fall
Until empty
So I can be filled again.

Where We Stand

Time.

It gathers itself
In fluid motion
Filling me up
Slow and steady.
Ripples,
That know neither
Here nor there
Bubble up
In unexpected
Locales in
Brain matter
Formed in ways
That sing
Distant
Thunder
In my heart.

This is how you are to me.

A ghost of a memory
That surfaces
When I least expect
And I feel.
And I admit,
I wonder
But I do not seek
And I will not touch
Because I believe.
So I let that
Thunder
Echo gently
As I breathe
Stormy
In life apart
Until I reach its peak.
Woman that I am.
Man that you are not.
Thorn and
Murky glow
We stand,
Heavenfaced,
Beneath.

--

--

Lyric Doe
Poets Unlimited

New York Born. Tokyo Lived. Poet/Food Blogger/Artist /Web Design and Programming. http://lyricdoe.com/