White Cake Batter Into A Cold, Metal Pan

Karen Kilbane
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readDec 30, 2017
Google

As December folds into January
Like
White cake batter
Into a cold,
Metal pan

Thoughts freeze
And clink around my brain
Like
Ice cubes
In
Champagne

I can
See,
Feel,
Taste,
Hear,
Even smell my thoughts;
But cannot interpret them.

How should I proceed this new year
Commencing in the depth of winter silence
When everything inside and out
Is frozen?

Will the waxing sun
Eventually
Thaw the earth and
Restore my sense of direction?

Will the sparrows
Of spring

Sing

Me back

Into knowing?

Do I have the patience to
Wait?

--

--

Karen Kilbane
Poets Unlimited

My students with special needs have led me to develop a hypothesis for a brain-compatible theory of personality. Reach me at karenkilbane1234@gmail.com