Why did the sheep stray away from the herd?

Máyọ̀wá
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readAug 22, 2017
Internet Archive Book Images

“Where can I go where everyone is not?
Even heaven is overcrowded.
Hell has the same problem.
You want to go where everyone knows your name.
I do not.
Put me in the all alone.
Dip me galaxies populated by stars and dust only.
I will lack nothing there; not even oxygen.
And when I’ve had my fill of that; I will take a sip of this
From your palm I will drink everlasting water
You’ve allowed me my freedom
Sacrificed all for my journey
You’ve found me
and now it is time to go home
to the ninety-nine
into your embrace
you have found me
and it is this — all of this that I have been searching for all along.”

~If a man has a hundred sheep and one of them wanders away, what will he do? Won’t he leave the ninety-nine others on the hills and go out to search for the one that is lost? And if he finds it, I tell you the truth, he will rejoice over it more than over the ninety-nine that didn’t wander away! In the same way, it is not my heavenly Father’s will that even one of these little ones should perish.
Matthew 18:12–14~

--

--

Máyọ̀wá
Poets Unlimited

Nigerian-American. Wishes she could speak her mother tongue like her mother's tongue. Regaining my kàlore after living a mostly invisible life.