Words For The Rest

ottaross
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readAug 6, 2019

A few words before a nap
In the heat of the midsummer radiance
In the heavy air of a string of rainless days
When our lawn with its broad diversity of weeds
Sits trimmed and green without our help

Before succumbing to the mid-afternoon weight
Of eyelids commanding me to put tools down
I will select from the firmament
A few choice combinations of letters
And their concomitant meanings

They will say ‘I am alive’
In a landscape of life and death and struggle
I am an organism that works to move forward
Though some days I’ll move less than others
And sometimes I will rest.

A shop keeper sits outside his ramshackle store in SouthEast Asia
Photo: by ‘Sheep’ (Hanoi, Vietnam) via Pexels.com

--

--

ottaross
Poets Unlimited

Ross in Ottawa was founder, publisher of “PoetsUnlimited” (NOW DEFUNCT). Abandoned MEDIUM after aggressive monetization ruined the platform