Photo by Josh Rose on Unsplash

Words like Bats

SouthpawPoet
Poets Unlimited
1 min readJan 29, 2018

--

The sun has lifted dark clouds
partially easing this gloom
this feeling of impending doom
like The End is coming too soon

Still trapped in my own words
They’re carving themselves in my chest
leaving no room for breath
I need to shout them out loud

They go flapping mad
fleeing like boisterous bats
emerging from the dark
Listen to their blind cry

I…
Lonely I

Walking streets in town
not keeping my head down
Early spring morning bathes my bones
and I’m grateful for its warmth

But here comes the dark again
Electric thoughts choking in pain
Earthworms eating flesh
They give me no rest

I’m lying on the ground
reading my eyelids bound
wondering how come the Sun
keeps turning around

--

--

SouthpawPoet
Poets Unlimited

The Left Hand of God is a Poet. Happy in the humble service of the Word.