Worship, VII

The Meaning of Flowers

thewrathofsponge
Poets Unlimited
1 min readApr 11, 2018

--

“Young woman clutches a withered red rose to her heart” by Giulia Bertelli on Unsplash

The odour
at the
back
of your neck

f a s c i n a t e s__m e

I am bereft.
You are perfect,
for the next few minutes.
A lily in a pretty vase,
ready
for the taking.

The sight of your friend is also breath-taking.
I cannot help myself.

You speak,
and I can
tell.

Your beauty’s the kind a man
dies for.
A rose with thorns
Guarded by the state
deserving,
And desired.

A rose with thorns,
A sun within the earth’s atmosphere
you’re stronger than I could dream.

And I
Live and breath
Your
Existence

And the existence of the friend you came with
The sight of her is also breath-taking.
I cannot help myself.

My meaning
lies under
the meaning of flowers
at this exact moment,
where my blood flows
with the heavens.

--

--