Would you go out with me

Sriteja Reddy Wudaru
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readMar 4, 2019

If I’m clumsy and messy

If I walk to you now and ask you for a coffee,
If I smile at you and then say something stupid,
If I compliment your eyes, or hair,
Without being creepy, if I say your smile is beautiful
Would you go out with me?
Would you come get a coffee, or may be a drink?
Would you let me know you more?
Would you laugh with me and hold my hand
As I pull a chair for you, like you’re a princess?
If I make all the right moves,
Would you let me ask you on a date?
If I make some stupid mistakes, some wrong moves,
Would you still see through, and see the real me?
As the night falls and the darkness creeps,
The cold winds start blowing on our faces
As we step outside and start walking,
Would you let me walk you to your house?
When I stumble across a pothole and slip,
Or feel dizzy ’cause I had one too many drinks,
Would you hold my hand and make me stable?
When we reach your house, and I lean in,
Would you give me a peck or would you kiss?
When I ask you out on a proper date,
And on the second, and on more, later on,
Would you feel we’re perfect and say yes
Or would you break my heart, but still gently?
If I’m scared to ask you out again, that’s actually me,
Would you take an initiative and say
“Let’s go grab something once again”?
I’m clumsy, I wanna tell you already, so if I mess up
Would you still believe me if I said I love you?

--

--

Sriteja Reddy Wudaru
Poets Unlimited

Researcher. Author. Novelist. Poet. Storyteller. Poetry collection, ‘Unspoken Words’, out now. Check out my Medium profile for details.