Wounds where we meet

John Horan
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readNov 18, 2016

--

I showed her my wounds,

she showed me her scars.

She showed me the sea,

I showed her the stars.

I remember we made love

and tears crept from her eyes

and when it was over

I thought those tears lied.

But I guess they were true,

we just couldn’t keep it alive

no matter how hard

I tried and I tried.

You can only keep bailing water

for so long off the boat as it sinks

before you break.

The wounds were too deep,

the scars were too fresh.

No shame in forgiveness,

no shame in my love.

I’ll do it again.

My scars are now healed.

I might know enough

to keep us afloat

or at least I know better

when to abandon the boat.

--

--

John Horan
Poets Unlimited

Writer of novels, scripts and poems. Teaches meditation. Thinks too much. https://linktr.ee/johnhoranpoetry